The position of President is the highest individual role within the Leeming Spartan Cricket Club, and as such, demands a level of commitment unlike that of any other.

Without doubt, this is the equivalent of a full-time job, and as such, the fine individuals who have served in the role deserve a special place in the history of the Club.

We therefore aim to provide much recognition to the Club’s Presidents as possible, many of whom have served multiple years in the role.

One of the more remarkable traits of the Club’s corporate structure is that it has been so sound as to have had just eleven Presidents since our inception in 1918.

Please read on below to learn about our eleven Presidents and the incredible difference they have made to the Leeming Spartan Cricket Club.

Peter Coombs

11th President

2015 – Present

Since his arrival at the Spartans in 2013, Peter has quickly established himself as one of the key figures of the Leeming Spartan Cricket Club, and in his tenure as President, which began in 2015, he has already had a monumental and lasting impact, with his efforts resulting in a wave of on and off field success at the Club.

Some of the major improvements Peter brought to our on the field standing includes an incredible First Grade Grand Final appearance in 2017, with our First Grade having previously been on the verge of relegation (something that has never before happened), just two years prior, having taken over amidst a series of retirements and changes of personnel.

Peter has also seen a revitalisation in the Club’s atmosphere off the field, and lead from the front by single-handedly carrying out clubhouse maintenance and improvements, orchestrating record levels of sponsorship, and making the Leeming Spartan Cricket Club the perfect place once again to spend a Thursday or Saturday evening.

He will also play a crucial part of our Centenary Celebrations next year, and we wish him all the best.

Having overseen major developments in all facets of the Club, Peter has certainly been a welcome addition to the Spartans, and we are delighted to have him on board for his third consecutive term!