Who will be crowned the Spartan’s best on-field performer of 2018/19? Find out Thursday, March 14th at our annual Read/Waterer Medal Count!

The Leeming Spartan Cricket Club’s Champion Player Award returns on Thursday the 14th of March, LIVE from the Clubhouse on John Connell Reserve from 6:30pm!

All Spartans, past and present, Sponsors, family and friends, and those associated with the Club are invited to attend the award ceremony, and we’re expecting it to be our closest one in many seasons.

This is without doubt a hugely enjoyable night, so please make sure you get down to the clubhouse to experience the fun!

Thursday March 14th – 6:30PM

• Vote Count • Player’s Tea • Presentations •

Do Not Miss Out!

With Plenty Of Fantastic Raffles & Prizes

An award with a long history.

The award itself is named after two of the Leeming Spartan Cricket Club’s biggest legends and stalwarts in Lew Read and Brian Waterer. 

Lew Read, just after receiving his Life Membership in 1970.

These two figures have proven to be amongst the Club’s most pivotal and influential, responsible for over five decades worth of commitment to the cause.

Lew Read was certainly one of the mainstays and core members at the Spartan Cricket Club for over twenty years since first debuting in 1946, becoming Club Captain and Coach in the 1965/66 season, a position he held for four seasons.

Brian Waterer’s name is synonymous with the Leeming Spartan Cricket Club, having been its most crucial member for the better part of five decades. Brian has served as Treasurer, Secretary, Vice President, and incredibly as President for twenty-seven years.

The service of these two gentlemen are amongst the greatest in not only Leeming Spartan history, but in that of all sporting clubs in the state of Western Australia.

When the Club Champion Award was introduced by the Committee during the 1993/94 season, it was a mere formality to name one of the Leeming Spartan Cricket Club’s highest honours after them.

Share Spartan news with your mates!